The rich history of St. Michaels
In 1948 St. Michael’s was established as the first new congregation in the Orlando area since St. Luke’s, All Saints, and St. John’s. It began life in Duckworth’s Garage and soon graduated to a rented building on Edgewater Dr.
The first building was built in 1951 on property acquired in 1950. This served as the church sanctuary until 1958 and it was renovated and rededicated in 1984 as Quigley Hall. A rectory was built on adjacent property, which eventually became the church office until November of 1996. In 1958 the present church sanctuary was completed. The Rev. F. Vernon Quigley conducted the first service there and served until his retirement in June 1986. There were years of rapid growth paralleling development in the area.
During the Summer of 1998 the installation of the Walker Harris Organ built by Andover Organ Company, Methuen, Ma. was completed. In 2002, the west end of the church was completely renovated, and we were Blessed with the addition of a new Rose Window.